A rain of emotions.

The rain drops fall steadily on my windowpane, my tears fall in sync turning my pillow  into a mini water bed for my teddy. The persistent downpour attempts to wash away the soil, just like I tried to wash off his scent, the feel of his flesh on mine as he invaded my body. The bid to cleanse myself unwittingly destroyed the evidence of his deed, much in the way the rain erased his footprints from the soil, burying it with other atrocities away from exposure. A cry for help stays lodged in my throat heard only by sympathisers , unacknowledged by defenders. Like a homeless man in the rain, I’m left to wander aimlessly under a torrent of confusing emotions.


Written by Chioma I.N

In response to the writing challenge flash fiction for aspiring writers hosted by Priceless Joy click on the link to visit the blog. The photograph was provided and the challenge is to write a 100 – 150 words (+/- 25 words) story inspired by it. Do click on the link for other stories.

Thanks Joy for the picture and for hosting. Thank you for stopping by.

15 thoughts on “A rain of emotions.

  1. This is hauntingly beautiful. It is so sad because she was raped and unable to bring her rapist to justice and beautiful because your writing is so beautiful. It is also sad because of how the rape has left her feeling. 😦 A poignant story. Thank you so much for participating in the weekly Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers Challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A good depiction of the affect of rape. It’s a hideous situation for any woman to find herself in. Well done, Chioma. I’m not sure about your use of ’emphasizes’, however. To emphasize means to put emphasis, or stress, upon a word, sentence or thing. http://www.thefreedictionary.com/emphasizes I think you maybe meant to use a different word. Possibly empathiser (although that’s not actually a word) meaning someone who feels empathy for her situation… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment