Bucket

She kicked the bucket, I

danced on her grave; the soothing melody

of her laughter played within.

Japanese Wooden Bucket

Hear the coins clack, echoing

like pebbles in a hollow cave, meager

donations just like super tonight.


My friend once said that to dance on someone’s grave was a sign that they lived a full and happy life. A life you were sad to lose, but one you are happy to have been part of.

I don’t know how true it is or if it’s a generally accepted truth, however, there is usually a lot of dancing at funerals back home so ….

Written in response to TJ’s Household Haiku Challenge – today’s prompt is bucket.

Thank you TJ for hosting this challenge.

Image: copyright Tj Paris

14 thoughts on “Bucket

    1. XD
      Well in Nigeria the burial of an elderly person off had a lot of dancing around the grave side and lots of festivity almost similar to a carnival. The more prominent the deceased the more flamboyant.
      Thank you for the kind words.
      XD

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Wonderful! I like the belief that dancing on the grave is honoring the person who died. Here in the states, dancing on someone’s grave means you are glad they died. LOL! We don’t dance on graves because of that.

    Like

      1. Yes! That is what struck me when I read your post. When I first started reading your story my mind immediately went to, “Oh, she must be glad this person died.” LOL!! I’m glad you said what the dancing really means.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I don’t know that the saying is true in everywhere and perhaps my friend was pulling my legs. I guess I didn’t read much to it as people generally dance and kind of have fun at a funeral.

        Like

  2. It’s amazing how one custom can conflict with another’s but very interesting. I just can’t see myself being happy at a funeral. They generally tear me apart…even when I didn’t know the person that well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment