Redemption from shawshank

At first it made no difference to me, gradually it started to grate on my nerves; soft words spoken solely for my ears.

Like a dripping tap it slowly corroded my heart.

You promised to be there for me, you never waived. Off course I didn’t believe you, why should I? And against my better judgement I let you stay, why? Why? WHY?

I found you veil  and soft at once. How is that even possible?

Sitting here on the sofa next to you watching shawshank redemption, it dawns on me ‘like Andy you drilled a tunnel through the quagmire called my life, but unlike him you weren’t seeking escape, you were bringing deliverance to a life buried six feet under.

One would think you spoke flowery words, how wrong they would be. No you spoke the truth but you never said them in spite or derision. You didn’t seek to save me for yourself, you sort to save me from myself.

You took that step and never looked back.


In response to the writing challenge flash fiction for aspiring writers hosted by Priceless Joy click on the link to visit the blog. The photograph is from the lovely J.S Brand (interesting photo can’t wait to see all the stories it inspires) and the challenge is to write a 100 – 150 words (+/- 25 words) story inspired by it. Do click on the link for other stories. 

 

4 thoughts on “Redemption from shawshank

Leave a Reply

