Indirect blessings

“I’m bored.”

Silence

“I know you heard me.”

Rolling my eyes in complete displeasure, not this conversation again “can’t you be bored somewhere else?”

“Oh don’t be so harsh.”

“I thought ‘harsh’ was my nature and ‘cold’s’ yours. It’s in your DNA you always say.”

“Hmmmm! Doesn’t matter, I’m still bored.”

“And what do you want me to do?”

Sighing as the memories came rushing back.”Anything! Anything to get the media interested. I’ve missed the sound of clicking cameras, awe filled gasps and hopeful smiles.” 

Sensing no interest, but still determined “don’t you miss it, any of it?”

“I don’t care,” feigning indifference unwillingly to admit vanity existed underneath the harsh core “but if it will get you off my case, I’ll try something. Only a little stunt though nothing fancy.”

“Oh thank you Sunny, now where should I stand?”

“Stand in the corner and put on your dark grey dress.”

Golden yellow hues filled the sky as the clouds darkened giving it the perfect contrast.

The cameras clicked, people sighed, hope for a better tomorrow shone through the sunset.


In response to the writing challenge flash fiction for aspiring writers hosted by Priceless Joy click on the link to visit the blog. The photograph is from the lovely footy and foodie (interesting photo can’t wait to see all the stories it inspires) and the challenge is to write a 100 – 150 words (+/- 25 words) story inspired by it. Do click on the link for other stories. 

18 thoughts on “Indirect blessings

  1. Urgh! Hate it when people go on about how bored they are – go do somethiing then! Like your character’s need for attention – a craving difficult to beat once you start I’m sure. Nice take on the prompt Chioma

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

