Through the door

Energy waves bounced unto the walls, I felt like a rocket launched into space. Walking to my new office, I made a conscious effort not to peep into every office, resisted the urge to smile at everyone as I walked past. Could they tell it was my first day?

A deflated balloon floated close to the ceiling slowly descending, it’s attempts to absorb energy from the walls around it failing terribly.

I walked down the corridor avoiding open doors and eye contact, lips taut with weariness. Could they tell it was my two-thousand-five-hundred-and twenty-eighth day in this place?

from-amy-reese
Copyright Amy Reese

Written for Friday fictioneers a writing challenge hosted by Rochelle. The picture was provided by Amy Reese the task is to write a 100 words story inspired by it. Thanks Rochelle for hosting the challenge. Thank you for stopping by… do click on the link to read other stories.

 

31 thoughts on “Through the door

Leave a Reply

