I prayed

I prayed the Lord my height to increase

a head taller I stood above my peers by morn.

I stood tall, my glory and flaws a public showpiece,

a head bent, I sought solace from dreams and dreads that had me torn.

 

I prayed the Lord my gait to straighten,

soon I took aristocratic steps on the streets of my youth.

I smiled in pride, they swore vehementlyΒ shattering my haven,

sober and dismayed, I sought solace from green eyed sleuths.

 

I prayed,

The Lord answered

Alas it came as a DIY package; His part was to deliver the package with clear instructions and a helpline to assist, my part is to assemble the structure.

 

Β 

11 thoughts on “I prayed

  1. Hi Chioma,

    How are you?

    I read this piece with a smile, it reminded me of a God who listens when we pray. So reassuring!

    @ “Alas it came as a DIY package”, I found this bit thought-provoking. There are times when the answers to a prayer are simply tools, it is then left to us to recognise that we must use the tools to construct the castle that prayed for. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Chioma,

    How are you?

    I read this with a smile, it reminded me of a God who listens when we pray. So reassuring!

    @ “Alas it came as a DIY package”, I found this bit thought-provoking. There are times when the answers to a prayer are simply tools, it is then left for us to recognise that we must use the tools to construct the castle that we prayed for. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

