Subjective review

The house looked nothing like what I had expected and I said as much to Joey.

“Are you sure this is the right place?”

“Yeap, it’s the right address.”

“It doesn’t look anything like I expected, it almost looks … picturesque, reminds me of Ellie’s nursery.” 

“Well that’s the perfect diversion, isn’t it? Throws you off the track.”

“It certainly does.”

“We have to go now, before we rouse suspicion. People don’t sit outside in their cars around here for long if they want to stay alive.”

Taking a deep breath, she tugged at the door handle.

It was a bed and breakfast, had lots of positive reviews online. A home away from home. I am sure Mr X would have given them a five star review if they had let him live, perhaps he heard a little more than the meal time chat.

Joey rang the bell.

Few minutes later and the door opened.

There she stood with a persona as welcoming as an angel holding heavens gate, they took diversion to another level

Copyright Phylor

In response to the writing challenge flash fiction for aspiring writers hosted by Priceless Joy click on the link to visit the blog. The photograph is from Phylor (interesting photo can’t wait to see all the stories it inspires) and the challenge is to write a 100 – 150 words (+/- 25 words) story inspired by it. Do click on the link for other stories. 

 

11 thoughts on “Subjective review

  1. I was a bit confused on first read. When the character said the ‘we have to go now” line, I took to mean leaving the area so it threw me when they didn’t leave:) My bad. Assumptions! Regardless, I enjoyed the story. Builds a lot of suspense and turns things on their heads; made me wonder if the speakers were good guys (as thought at first) or bad guys.

    Like

Leave a Reply

