Steps back and forth

On the 27th of March 2015

You made a conscious decision to let into your life.

There was a sales at the shops that day and fate brought us together.

Not very romantic many would say,

it’s not all about how or where you met each other, it’s why, where and how you choose to go from there that defines true romance, at least that’s what I thought back then.

We had some great fun together didn’t we.

Spending  hours together,

protecting each other. I was always concerned about your health and safety

You worried more for my appearance, vain much? I think so.

But I didn’t care because it came from a place of love.

And even now as I lie here heartbroken, worn and haggard

I still carry you in my chest, I know you didn’t mean to hurt me

carelessness has always being your greatest flaw.

Careless words, careless temper,

careless assumptions of your own self importance.

Careless …

Footsteps brought us together,

Footsteps have taken you away from me.

I lie by the roadside,

hoping a good Samaritan will choose to help me heal my bruised soul.

Daily prompt footsteps.

 

2 thoughts on “Steps back and forth

Leave a Reply

