Tenax

Every room on campus looks the same, yet this room felt different.It was simple, there were no Gothic or naturalistic elements slamming the occupants beliefs in my face. I guess that’s why it stood out.

“What’s that all about?” pointing at the shelf.

“What, the batteries?”

“Yup”

“It’s my FAM bank.”

“Sorry?”

Chuckling “My Failed Attempts Memorabilia. My dad started one for me in high school, when my science project collapsed. He said to save a piece of every failed project as an investment towards success. The more I had, the closer I was.

Copyright-Sean Fallon
Sean Fallon

 

“My dad encouraged us to fail. Growing up, he would ask us what we failed at that week. If we didn’t have something, he would be disappointed. It changed my mindset at an early age that failure is not the outcome, failure is not trying. Don’t be afraid to fail.” Sara Blakely


Written for Friday fictioneers a writing challenge hosted by Rochelle.  The picture was provided by Sean Fallon and the task is to write a 100 words story inspired by it. Thanks Rochelle for hosting the challenge. Thank you for stopping by… do click on the link to read other stories.

 

 

 

48 thoughts on “Tenax

    1. There’s a writers group here in town has a jeweled letter opener that gets passed around to those who have received a hundred rejections. The premise is that you’re not a true writer until you’ve been turned down a hundred times.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. ‘Thought for the day’. I am really glad that I have not kept some item relating to each of my failures, I would have to move to a bigger house. Then if I had kept some item from each success?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

