Shades of love.

His crying woke me, this was the third time tonight. They said it would get easier, six months gone and it hadn’t happened. Oh the joys of motherhood!

“Hi Edward, where’s your kite?”

“Here it is. Mum can we go now?”

“Sure but stay where I can see you.” Giovanni had found a kindred spirit for a friend.

“I really like her, she’s amazing.”

“Amazing? I thought it was cute before? Watching Giovanni get all flustered and giggly as he talked about his first crush was heart-warming. Never thought he would find a bestfriend and a girlfiend at his new school.

It felt like a log of wood – my heart, heavy and unmoving. I wish I could turn back time, I wish I had never met her.  There was no way I would put myself through that again.

Again love knocked, thankfully he answered. They went everywhere together like twins co-joined at the hip. Sweet, but still irritating to watch, at least he was happy, reaching out to love.

“Isn’t Joanna coming?”

“Na, she’s in a meeting.”

“Am sorry honey.”

“Don’t be mum, she’s taking me somewhere special for a private celebration.”

“Ohhh!” mom replied with a wink.

She moved to New York. I wanted so desperately to stop her, but I couldn’t stand in the way of her success .I missed her, I missed us. I not sure she will ever return.

It wasn’t meant to work. The distance should have wrecked havoc on their budding relationship, somehow they made it work despite a rocky start. I prayed for them constantly, hoping for a happily ever after.

“I will always love you Giovanni, neither time nor distance will ever change that.”

“Today marks the beginning of my life, I love you Joanna. For better or worse. For richer or poorer, till death do us part.”

“Honey where are my brown socks?”

“In the top drawer.”

“It’s not there.”

Handing them to him “how come you never seem to find them?”

“Cos you’re the better half.”

“Yeah right.”

“Oh my God, I can’t do this anymore! Somebody please make the pain stop.”

“Honey, you are doing great. Just hang in there, one more push and baby will be here.”

Cute as a button, that was our daughter Esmé Tiffany. The delight of her grandmother; a gift we all loved, a new generation to tender. This was our box of love flavoured differently by each passing season.


 

Hi everyone the above is a collection of twelve seperate short stories written as one, much like the chocolate box above each story paints a different aspect of love. Do you think it worked? Written In response to the writing challenge a box of chocolate. 12 short separate stories.

3 thoughts on “Shades of love.

Leave a Reply

