Green tank.

Empty crisp wraps, muddy soil, potholes and dog poop littered the entire street in a pattern that left no building unmarked by the dirt.

The site I could endure, but the stench …

Turning the corner the tank loomed ahead in the distance like a beacon, the sight of it made me smile, it brought back memories. Memories of

A father who held unto his own ideals like a pit-bull hanging unto your calf.

A mother who cowered at every upset, but never forgave a slight.

A house that echoed the raised voice and trembled more at the resounding silence.

But also memories of a man who spent his last savings building a reservoir so the neighbours didn’t run short of water. It was the first true act of kindness I saw my father do, but it was also the last I would witness for a long while.

Today, I’m going home; yes home to my mum and dad. I didn’t become the ‘Bull’ of wall street by accident, their genes lace through my bloodstream.

This song influenced my story.


 

In response to the writing challenge flash fiction for aspiring writers hosted by Priceless Joy click on the link to visit the blog. The photograph was provided by Sonya at only 100 words (interesting photo can’t wait to see all the stories it inspires) and the challenge is to write a 100 – 150 words (+/- 25 words) story inspired by it. Do click on the link for other stories.

Thank you for stopping by.

18 thoughts on “Green tank.

  1. It is interesting how a person is shaped by their parents and upbringing. That was a kind thing that the father did, despite his short comings. I also loved the song by Rita Ora. I love her voice and the music video was great. I can see how the song would influence your writing. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Everyone is a product of their upbringing, no matter what they may do to try to escape it. Hopefully the ‘Bull of Wall Street’ is as capable of the unexpected act of kindness as their father was! Good story, Chioma. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

