Waves

Rustling sounds.

Rolling over and seeking comfort, somewhere to rest to relax a weary behind.

Nothing sucks the life out of you like a journey fraught with multiple layers of tension.

They warned me not to get blown over; but they forgot to mention its ability to sorely test my resistance.

Let me in.” It howled.

“No.” I squeaked, fear rippling through my being.

Bellowing twice as hard, it shook my core “Let me in now.”

“No,” Whispered my trembling walls.

It huffed, it puffed; broke down my defences by the sheer fervour of its focus.

The blame was laid solely on my shores.

My credibility as a once peaceful and nurturing being was shattered by the wave.

I am tossed and turned by every wind, a body of water pushed beyond its limit.

 

Kitchen Window
Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

 

I think that’s a body of water outside the window right?

A bit over the word count. Sorrryyyy.

In response to Friday fictioneers writing challenge hosted by Rochelle.  The picture was provided by  our very own Rochelle and the task is to write a 100 words story inspired by it. Thanks Rochelle for hosting it, thank you for stopping by… do click on the link to read other stories.

22 thoughts on “Waves

  1. What’s great about this prompt is someone thinks there’s water and someone else (me) thinks there’s dust! It’s all about what you see and that’s all that matters. I enjoyed this a lot. Very powerful writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My boss had a Type A personality. He was like a pressure cooker. I told my mother that he’d die of a heart attack. After I left that office, I heard that was exactly what happened. I was working for Civil Service so just asked to be transferred. I wasn’t the only one in that office who got yelled at. There was no call for it. Talk about rude. Those were the days when you had to clean the office a bit. He left cigar ashes all over his desk which I had to clean up. One of the other men told me I’d get my reward in heaven. I was only 19. — Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

