Life story …

No. No no no no!!!

Something was awfully wrong here. This is supposed to be my life story, a biography, but instead I have spent the last hour reading the story of a different girl; a girl with little or no tangible resemblance to me.

Why did they gloss over my teenage scars like they never happened? They wrote about how bold I felt being the tallest girl in high school, but they forgot to mention how painfully shy and awkward I felt for a long time being the last girl amongst my peers to grow into the semblance of curves and breasts.

The book made me out to be a quintessential child. I listened to every word mother said and never once disobeyed, but that is so far from the truth. Yes I listened to mother, I didn’t have much of a choice, but No I didn’t always obey. Like the time I took a lift from a stranger back to school, thankfully nothing happened got to school safe and in one piece. A fact I attribute to having mentioned who my mum was to the stranger who happened to live two streets away from us. Mum was a well known Christian and disciplinarian, her fame as a woman who didn’t suffer fools much was known home and abroad. I never told mum ‘cos she would have skinned me alive. My sins, however came back to bit me in the proverbial when the said gentleman came calling as a potential boyfriend, talk about awkward.

I really could not stomach reading any further, so I rushed to the end and there I faced the worst climax I have ever read/seen/heard in the history of story telling. Who ends a book with “and she died.” of course I died, I wasn’t immortal and it was bound to happen some day. Even the most watered down cliches would have been better “and she died in her sleep or she died with a smile” or even the mythical/fairytale ending “and she lived happily ever after” would have sufficed even if it was a lie.

Honestly the book is a scam. The only part of my life story told in that book is the story of a girl without flaws living inside my head. Perhaps my subconscious wrote that story whilst I went about life trying to focus on the positives, learning each day to edit the negatives out of my story. What kind of story teller would I be if I couldn’t do that? Not every character slays a giant or climbs a high mountain some just hold the forte so we have somewhere nice to return to.

534685_10151141218019135_1465764402_n
And whose that lady and why is she on my book cover? 

This is supposed to be a humorous post, I had no idea where it would go or what it was about, but it’s the first thing that came to mind when I read the prompt. Care to tell me what you think?

In response to the DAILY PROMPT:  This Is Your Life.

If you could read a book containing all that has happened and will ever happen in your life, would you? If you choose to read it, you must read it cover to cover. 

8 thoughts on “Life story …

  1. Enjoyed your story! It’s very hard to not be recognized for your worth, and equally as hard to be recognized for someone you know your aren’t! The old saying goes…”the truth always hurts” …… well, the fictional truth does as well..:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very nice post & thanks for liking mine, as well. It only seems bad, because it’s from your point of view. We’re always our harshest critics. I read your book, & it was wonderful. Besides, if not…. #NOTHINGMatters

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

