Mirroed

Image source: Pixabay.

Tapping her shoulder in a gentle caress “Grace, Grace get-up darling. I didn’t know the meeting would linger this much.”

“I meant to put a call through letting you know not to wait up, but it must have slipped my mind.” he continued.

“I tried to stay awake, guess boredom won over my romantic musings” she said on a yawn as she attempted standing by herself.

“I’ll make it up to you, take you anywhere you want over the weekend.” He smiled into her eyes, she smiled back: her love for him laid bare on the altar of her soul. They both knew he was lying, it was only a matter of time.

“Cut!” Screamed the director. “That was awesome everyone take three.”

If only they knew the scene was a perfect reflection of her life, only in her case, she was the one out of love with him. The divorce would be announced once the production was over, she couldn’t be asked to deal with nasty paparazzi while on set.


In response to the writing challenge flash fiction for aspiring writers hosted by Priceless Joy click on the link to visit the blog. The photograph was provided and the challenge is to write a 100 – 150 words (+/- 25 words) story inspired by it. Do click on the link for other stories.

Thank you for stopping by.

20 thoughts on “Mirroed

  1. Brilliant story! Although the “altar of her soul” line made me cringe a bit. Guess it’s my editor’s bad influence—she keeps telling me off for using lines like that. But don’t listen to me! P.J. liked it…

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

