Be thankful challenge.

be-thankful

Life has a variety of issues that can drive us mad, make us sad or contemplate becoming indifferent to what’s around us, but there’s even more to be thankful for. When I read Millie’s post here I was reminded once more that it’s more rewarding both physically and emotionally to ignore the negatives and focus on the positives. Thank you Millie for nominating me.

rules

* Share this image (top one) in your blog post
* Write about 5 people in your life you are thankful for
* Write about 5 things in 2015 that you are thankful for
* Spread the love and challenge 5 other blogs to take part.


Five people I am thankful for: I will keep this short 

  1. My husband: for supporting our little family to the best of his abilities. For being the voice of caution and reasoning when my impatient mind dreams up numerous mountains and adventures to pursue. I don’t always like it at the time, but in hindsight he does make sense. ∗annoying much – sometimes∗ ;-).
  2. My daughter: you’ve made me grow up so much, dare so much and dream even bigger. I feared at first that your teenage years would be horrendous, but as I weave your hair, give you a bath and pray with you at night, I say bring on the teenage years. No matter what happens I have no doubt that we’ll make each other better in the long run.
  3. My mum: she has been tremendously understanding and accommodating especially as we haven’t been in the same room for the last three years. We have become wonderful friends though as she prays for me and guides me through the steps of raising baby L.
  4. My siblings: they have all pitched in to help me with the different turns of my dreams and career path. I dump things on you guys last minute and you still hold up your end. Thank you.
  5. My friends and blogging community: need I say more. Thank you for every link clicked, every word read, every like button pressed, every comment written, every critique given and most importantly every new follower added.

Five things I am thankful for this year:

  1. A healthy family: we have had some minor illnesses here and there, but thankfully everyone is fine.
  2. A seemingly defined life path for next year which is more than I had coming into 2015. Only time will tell how defined it is. 😉
  3. My blog and growing blog family: you have been an awesome family. You helped me find my foot in this year. When the blog is a year old I would do a proper thanksgiving filled with ‘owambe dance’ and rice. (Customary traits of a Nigerian thanksgiving)
  4. An opportunity to volunteer and learn new things in my community.
  5. Finally my friends: on-line, in the community and back home. You guys have been nothing short of amazing.

Nominations: anyone out there who wants to take part in being thankful, please jump right in.

8 thoughts on “Be thankful challenge.

  1. Thank you for doing the challenge, Chioma, and getting it done so soon (unlike me!). 🙂 I wish you every happiness in 2016 – although we still have a good few weeks of this year yet. I hope your family thrives and you continue to enjoy your great community work. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had to do it now before something else starts bouncing in my head. 🙂
      True the year isn’t over yet, but honestly considering how clueless I was early this year, I am thankful for some sort of plan. Thank you for being so supportive, I really appreciate it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You seem to be doing really well right now, Chioma. I first ‘met’ you very early on in the year, when we started talking about families and juggling a family with a career. We’ve both done lots of things on WP since then. You do so many challenges now, so good for you! And you seem to have really settled into life in this country (at least I hope you have).Look after yourself and your family. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I know right, I will be making some changes come next year. To give my blog some sort of structure right now I seem a bit all over the place. Speaking of family: a request from a young mother to her fairy blog mother would you be interested in doing a piece on managing teenagers especially girls.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. What an interesting idea! I’ve handled more teenage girls than you could imagine, Chioma, having taught in a girls’ grammar school for some years (not to mention having two girls of my own!). I would be very interested in doing a post about this, except for the fact that in short while (November) I’ve decided to stop blogging for a while to get on with my third book. I’m so behind with it! I might do the odd post, so I suppose the one you suggest could be one of them … I enjoyed doing the last one. You’ve seriously tempted me here! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Would absolutely love whatever advice/story you share with us. Aww, I’ll sorely miss your presence, I do have plans to read your books just give some time. All the best with the final one, I know it will be nothing short of amazing.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I’ll really miss writing things for WP too. But I must finish this book. I’ve had several reviewers on Amazon and Goodreads saying they’re waiting for Book 3, and it’s freaking me out! I owe it to those people to get it finished. As I said, I’ll be popping on the blog now and the – perhaps once a week.I just cxan’t keep up with posting often. Thank you for understanding Chioma.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

