Cactus love.

In response to Picture it & write hosted by Eliabeth Hawthorne.

8:00am Wednesday, 21/08/09 

Text: Hey handsome, hope you slept well? Off to work now, see you at two’ for coffee xx

2:10pm

Reply: Hi, caught up in work won’t be able to make it. Sorry love.

Thursday, 22/08/09

I didn’t text, you didn’t reply.

I didn’t call neither did you.

6:00pm Friday, 23/08/09

“Hiya love, how are you?

“Good (sighs) it’s been a hectic day, only had a couple of minutes to catch my breath,”

“Oh poor you, I could come cheer you up,”

Chuckling “No worries, I’ll be fine'”

“Al-right love, see you later then?

“Yeah, no problem”

11:00pm 

I sit at the bar watching you, so animated, full of life and energy just the way you were when we first meet. You dance with her perusing her body with each move, the glint of a hunter sparks in your eyes, at that moment I finally accept the inevitable you’ll never love me like I want you to and I am tired of making compromises just to be with you. My tears are kept at bay, I hold my head high and go through the motions till I return to my safe haven. Wish I could say I hadn’t seen the signs from the beginning, but they were there, undertones woven through every action and communication.

6:00pm Monday 26/08/09

Changed your name to cactus love on my phone.

Changed my Facebook profile from in a relationship to single.

Bought a cactus plant to remind me that if I ever let you in again I would end up with pines in my side and you would be none the wiser as you are just being you.

Goodbye cactus love, your not mine to have or to hold.


cactus coffeeThe above picture was provided and we are challenged to write a story inspired by it. Thanks for stopping by.

Photobucket

3 thoughts on “Cactus love.

Leave a Reply

