The group

….I was always grateful when Johnny didn’t come home; I never thought I would say that about my husband. Gosh! it sounds horrible, but for me it meant a good night’s rest without any new scars….”

“...I know what you mean, it got so bad with my Ex, on some nights I could hear Emily praying her father would get lost again. It broke my heart to hear her say that. A girl’s father should be her hero…..”

“… The most painful part for me, was knowing that I had willingly let him into my life and when the beatings started it felt like I couldn’t let him go. Like I deserved the beating as a punishment for my bad judgement….”

“…I went through that stage as well it’s almost like you are unconscious, constantly in denial. But I woke up the day he laid his hands on Emily….”

“…Mummy tiger to the rescue! Whoop whoop! (cheers and laughter filled the room) I can’t imagine what I would have done if I had been in your shoes. Probably killed the idiot…”

“…But does it ever really get better, you know the self-doubt, constant fear that he might just show up again. Does it ever go away? …”

“….It will honey, but it’s a slow gradual process. You have to hang in there and tell yourself daily that you can truly smile again…”

“…Gotta run ladies, Emily’s recital is for three and big mamas gotta show. See you all next week…”

“….bye honey, hope she breaks a leg…”

“…Make a video for us and give Emily my love. Tell her aunt Grace says hello….”

“….Will do…”

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Groupthink.”

4 thoughts on “The group

Leave a Reply

